Mushtaq Ahmed, Lord's Cricket Ground, Lord's, Cook, Amla, Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, de Villiers, Kallis, Gilchrist, Wasim, Warne, Marshall, McGrath, Cricket

Former Pakistani leg spinner Mushtaq Ahmed has announced his all-time eleven, which was published by the Lord’s cricket ground’s official Twitter handle on Saturday.

Mushtaq, the bowling coach of the Pakistan cricket team, has picked just one Pakistan player (Wasim Akram) in his all-time eleven. “(I pick) Alastair Cook as an opener. I choose him because he is a good Test cricketer, has good patience and has got 10,000 runs in his Test career. And I have got Hashim Amla (to partner Cook). He is a brilliant player.

“At number 3 is Ricky Ponting. He is very brave. (He took) took fast bowlers on. He is also a great leader. Sachin Tendulkar (at number 4). We all know he is the best so far. He has the best record. He is the kind of guy who you have to pick at No. 4. You can rely on him. He can score lots of runs for you,” he said.

The leggie also added that “AB de Villiers is a brilliant cricketer. He can take the game away from the opposition. That is why I have him at number 5. At 6, I have all-rounder Jacques Kallis. He has a brilliant record in Test cricket. He can bowl as the fourth seamer. At 7 is Adam Gilchrist. He can damage the opposition straight away.”

The bowling composition consists of 3 legendary Fast bowlers “Wasim Akram, Malcolm Marshall and Glenn McGrath” to go with the greatest leg spinner of all time “Shane Keith Warne”. He explained, “At 8 is Wasim Akram. He is deceptive, fast, (bowls) yorkers, (can) reverse swing and he is different. And he can also bat. He has a great record in Test cricket. Malcolm Marshall at No. 9. He was a great bowler and he was also smart. He was fast and got different variations.”

“One of the best leg-spinners ever – Shane Warne (at number 10). He is a match-winner. Glenn McGrath (at 11). You can rely on him with both new and old balls. He can take the game away (from the opposition). He is a brilliant fast bowler to have in the side,” he concluded.

Mushtaq Ahmed’s all-time XI: Alastair Cook, Hashim Amla, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist, Wasim Akram, Malcolm Marshall, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath.


Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (1) in /home/cricbolco/public_html/blog/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4350

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (1) in /home/cricbolco/public_html/blog/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4350