England Tour of India 2016, Board of Control for Cricket in India, England and Wales Cricket Board, Test Cricket, ODI Cricket, T20 Cricket, India vs England, INDvsENG, Virat Kohli, Alastair Cook, Mahendra Singh Dhoni,  Vijay, Rahane, Rohit, Cook, Root, Hales, Ishant, Jadeja, Ashwin, Anderson, Broad, Moeen Ali, Anil Kumble, Trevor Bayliss

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has publicized the dates and venues for the upcoming home series against England that comprises of five Tests, three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is). The series will kick-off in Rajkot with the first Test, which is scheduled to be played from November 9-13, 2016.

Just like their last tour to India in 2012, England will lock horns in the Test matches first before returning home. They will make their way back to the subcontinent in January, 2017, to complete the ODI and T20I leg of the tour.

The BCCI had previously announced six (Indore, Rajkot, Visakhapatnam, Dharamsala, Ranchi and Pune) new Test venues from this calendar year (2016-17) with Indore set to host the visiting New Zealand team in October. Rajkot and Visakhapatnam now follow the trend, hosting the first two Tests before the series moves on to the traditional venues in Mohali, Mumbai and Chennai.

The tourists then return home for a Christmas and New Year break before returning to India to complete the remainder of the tour.

The tour resumes with the first ODI to be played in Pune on January 15th, 2017. Cuttack and Kolkata will complete the ODI leg while Kanpur, Nagpur and Bengaluru are scheduled to host the T20Is.

India are yet to beat England in a Test series since the Sachin Tendulkar inspired stunning 387-run chase during the 2008-09 home series.

Full itinerary


1st Test, November 9-13, Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

2nd Test, November 17-21, ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam

3rd Test, November 26-30, IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

4th Test, December 8-12, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

5th Test, December 16-20, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

One Day Internationals

1st ODI, January 15th (D/N), Maharashtra Cricket Association’s International Stadium, Pune

2nd ODI, January 19th (D/N), Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

3rd ODI, January 22nd (D/N), Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Twenty20 Internationals

1st T20I, January 26th, Green Park, Kanpur

2nd T20I, January 29th, Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

3rd T20I, February 1st, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru